07 November 2018

Ever wondered what the Park Board does?

Here's a video tribute to our 2014-2018 Board, produced by Margo Harper.

To the out-going elected Board: a job well done. So proud to have been a part of it.

New Vancouver park board commissioners sworn in

Two incumbents, five new commissioners

/ Vancouver Courier
November 6, 2018 01:15 PM

It’s official. Vancouver’s new park board commissioners were sworn in Monday night at a special ceremony at VanDusen Botanical Garden.

After a thank you and short tribute to the work of the outgoing board, which included Michael Wiebe and Sarah Kirby-Yung, who were sworn in as city councillors earlier in the day, the new commissioners were sworn in and took their places at the table.

“Tonight at this table you see seven commissioners who have very large shoes to fill,” said Green party commissioner Stuart Mackinnon, who was re-elected to a third term on Oct. 20. “The commissioners for the last four years have been incredibly hard working and dedicated and I can’t thank them enough on behalf of the citizens of Vancouver… we may not always agree around the table, but I think we can all say that we have the best interests of parks and recreation, and for the citizens of Vancouver, in our hearts.”

Non-Partisan Association commissioner John Coupar also returns to the board for a third term. The incumbents are joined by newcomers Tricia Barker (NPA), the Greens’ Dave Demers and Camil Dumont, and COPE’s Gwen Giesbrecht and John Irwin.

Mackinnon was elected board chair, a position he’s held for the last year, and Demers was elected vice-chair. Giesbrecht and Barker were elected to serve as committee chair and vice chair.

“I look forward to four years of hard work, good times and tough times in this city,” Mackinnon said. “I thank you all for your support because we’re going to need it over the next four years. It is for you that we are elected, it is for you that we are working.”

The new board gets down to business with its first regular board meeting Nov. 19.